top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Green Kitchen Witch

Sage Benefits and a DIY Grounding and Anxiety Relief Candle


Related to herbs like rosemary, oregano, lavender, and thyme, the lovely sage has been around since Roman times.

Its health properties are a staple in traditional Europe and Chinese medicine. Based on what you need it for, you can use sage as an infusion, tincture, salve, add it to soaps, bath bombs, creams, or even as a great food flavoring agent.


Among the numerous benefits it has on the body, sage acts as an antioxidant and it can strengthen the immune system.


Sage it is a pretty easy plant to grow. Best is to plant it in pots so you can move it around if you do not have a spot where it can receive full sun all day. Use well-draining soil and pots and be careful not to overwater it - sage is known to hate having wet-feet. In the perfect scenario, you would water it once a week deeply. However, the climate matters so as an indication, water whenever the soil around the plant is fully dry.


#funfact: Its scientific name comes from the Latin word "salvere" meaning "to be saved".

I thought of also sharing with you a fun and easy DIY recipe where you could use sage.

As you can see in the picture, for my candle I used my witchie cauldron as a candle container and I am absolutely in love with it.

But you can use any heat resistant container so no worries if you do not have one or if you do not want to use your caldron for this. When making the candle, be sure to add an extra thin layer of wax on the sage leaves or push them gently with a toothpick in the wax. If they stay outside, there is a risk that they will catch on fire. As a self-care ritual, every time I feel stressed or anxious, I just light up my candle and breathe while grounding myself and feeling all the stress melting away.

What are your favorite sage recipes my dear moonbeams? Let me know in the comments below 💚


With love,

The Green Kitchen Witch



33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page